Winter 2019




Professor E. James Petersson

James Petersson completed his undergraduate education at Dartmouth College and his graduate study under Dennis Dougherty at the California Institute of Technology. After receiving his Ph.D. in 2005, he was an NIH Postdoctoral Fellow at Yale University with Alanna Schepartz. He joined the Department of Chemistry at the University of Pennsylvania in 2008 and the Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics Graduate Group in the Perelman School of Medicine in 2013. His research has been recognized by several awards, including the Searle Scholar, an NSF CAREER award, and a Sloan Fellowship.



Ph.D. Students and Postdocs    

Taylor Mallory Barrett

  John J. Ferrie
Rochester Institute of Technology   The College of New Jersey
B.S. 2015   B.S. 2013


Kristen Fiore


Sam Giannakoulias

Haverford College   University of Maryland, Baltimore County
B.S. 2017   B.S. 2018


Chloe Jones


Joomyung (Vicky) Jun

China Agricultural University   University of California, Berkeley
M.S. 2015   B.S. 2012


Marshall Lougee


Buyan Pan

College of the Holy Cross   Princeton University
B.S. 2016   A.B. 2015


Hoang-Anh Phan


Daniel Miklos Szantai-Kis

Macalester College   Karlsruher Institut fur Technologie
B.S. 2018   Dipl.-Chem. 2012


M.S. and Undergraduate Students    


Tiberiu Minaila


Joo Hyung Park

University of Pennsylvania   Denison University
Class of 2019   B.S. 2017


Sumant Shringari

University of Pennsylvania    
Class of 2021    


EJPLab Alumni

Conor M. Haney NIH Postdoctoral Fellow
  Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina - Wilmington
Itthipol Sungwienwong Ph.D. 2018
  Lecturer, Srinakharinwirot University
Christopher Walters Ph.D. 2017
  Associate, Penn Center for Innovation
Jieliang Wang M.S. 2017
  Associate, NAL Pharma
Xing (Stella) Chen Ph.D. 2017
  Associate, Merck KGA
Naoya (Eddie) Ieda JSPS Epigenetics Postdoctoral Scholar
  Assistant Professor, Hidehiko Nakagawa, Nagoya City University
Christina Cleveland M.S. 2016
  Associate, KBI Pharma, Inc.
Lili Owei B.S. 2016
  M.D. Program, Perelman School of Medicine, UPenn
Eileen Hoang B.S. 2016 (Swarthmore College)
  Chemical Biology Ph.D. Program, Harvard University
Benson Chen B.S. 2016
  Computer Science Ph.D. Program, M.I.T.
Yun Huang Postdoctoral Scholar
  Postdoctoral Scholar, Olga Boudker, Weill Cornell Medical College
Yanxin (Jerri) Wang Ph.D. 2015
  Consultant, McKinsey and Company
E. Keith Keenan B.S. 2015
  Biochemistry Ph.D. Program, Duke University
Rebecca Wissner Ph.D. 2015
  Research Investigator, Chondrial Therapeutics
Anand Muthusamy B.S. 2014
  Chemistry Ph.D. Program, California Institute of Technology
Solongo Batjargal Ph.D. 2014
  Research Associate, 10X Genomics
Lee Speight Ph.D. 2014
  Development Analyst, Green Biologics, Ltd.
John Warner Ph.D. 2014
  Postdoctoral Scholar, Hilel Lashuel, E.P.F.L.
Anne Wagner Ph.D. 2013
  Senior Scientist, L'Oreal Inc.
Jacob Goldberg Ph.D. 2013
  Assistant Professor (Visiting), Colgate University
Haviva Garrett B.S. 2013
  Medical School, Temple University
Colin Fadzen B.S., M.S. 2013
  M.D./Ph.D. Program, Harvard /M.I.T.
Dr. Tomohiro Tanaka JSPS Postdoctoral Fellow
  Research Associate, The Noguchi Institute Tokyo, Japan
Eileen Moison B.S. 2013
  Chemical Biology Ph.D. Program, Harvard University
Alyssa Klein B.S. 2013 (Harvard University)
  Research Assistant, Fox Chase Cancer Center
Mark Fegley M.S. 2011
  Anesthesiology Resident, University of Pennsylvania
Chrissie Grindley B.S. 2011
  Oliver Wyman Group
Nicholas Marotta B.S. 2010
  Postdoctoral Scholar, Virginia Lee, University of Pennsylvania